Fade to Black and A Lesson In Contrast

 

Monday March 21,2016

Black on black and all black with a punch of white. That was the idea behind this photo story which was shot on location at the newly revamped Del Amo Fashion Mall in Torrance, CA. From my early days in retail working the makeup artistry circuit all black as a uniform was a common practice instilled in me. It soon became my go-to as my day to day wardrobe outfit as well, it was easy to pair because there was no matching of patterns or colors and texture was no obstacle either, in fact it was a welcome accessory adding that one needed element. Today I took an unexpected mash-up of black tuxedo pants and a ruffled crepe blouse; a usual nod to a night time or evening look and downplayed it by accompanying it with patent leather Birkenstock Gizeh sandals in one ensemble and Rihanna for  Puma Fenty  sneakers in another. At first I thought this calls for a serious pump or open toed stiletto for sure but I linked the combos and loved what I got! Either way the look was still polished and classy, yet easy fun.

 

 

IMG_0106

Here, an unlikely pairing with my Birkenstock Gizeh sandals but it works. Take a cue from the patent leather which takes it up a notch. Most often you think of Birk’s with flowey skirts and dresses or denim cut-offs and a fringed shawl or some other low key collaboration but look around and if you  let style mavens have their say, anything goes. Want more proof? Read Popsugar here and Who What Wear here.

 

There’s that Love Moschino bag again. And I added some vintage inspiration with a jacket from my mothers closet. It must be at least 50 years old but I simply adore the bead work and the condition is near mint. Not only is this jacket a perfect styling partner to my outfit because it’s black and the compliment of it’s intricate adorning of beads but as you can probably imagine, wearing it gives me a sense of comfort knowing that it once belonged to my mother, who at one time gave it her own personality. I also got some added polish and a pop of color from NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in cult fave shade Cruella.

IMG_0172

Here I worked up the same peplum blouse by Who What Wear for Target Collection with satin piped pants from H&M and accented them with the bright surprise of the white sneakers. I love the fresh crispness of white, in this case it adds a sporty unexpectedness. I dig it! However, if you’re into black find them here.  Nearby sits a cute pair of Le Specs  Jealous Games sunglasses and a really cute bag…oh did mention the bag already?

 

 

IMG_0213

For added contrast I could have gone with these pieces too.

 

Shop Le Specs Cleopatra sunnies

Shop for Aldo Helmer clutch

Shop Marni bracelet

 

Thanks for stopping by to take a peek at my page this week. As always I hope you found something of interest. More than anything I hope to encourage you to think outside of the norm and build your own creative arsenal of ideas that will hopefully grow and manifest into something that you feel brings you a renewed perspective on style, beauty and just living in general.

Wishing you Love and Luxury,

Linda

 

 

*All photo credits in this post are Caden Jamison for Loveandluxurydotus

*Due to circumstances beyond my control some links may point to items that are no longer in stock at the time you are ready to purchase. I apologize in advance for the inconvenience. The items depicted on my page are in no way shape or form gratis or compensation for advertisement but simply items of interest to me personally that I have chosen to share on my site. All photo credits (except where noted) are the property of the retail sites from which the products are derived.

 

Leave a comment